Connect with us

Find us around the globe

View all our office locations

Climate Leadership Awards Given

From Environmental Leader, Published 26 February 2014

Fifteen organizations and two individuals were recognized as the 2014 winners of Climate Leadership Awards.

The awards are given by the EPA’s Center for Corporate Climate Leadership, in collaboration with the Center for Climate and Energy Solutions (C2ES), the Association of Climate Change Officers and The Climate Registry. Awardees came from a wide array of sectors, including finance, manufacturing , retail, technology, higher education and local government.

The 2014 Climate Leadership Award recipients are:

Organizational Leadership Award : City of Chula Vista, Sprint, and University of California, Irvine

Individual Leadership Award : Sam Brooks, Associate Director, DC Department of General Services, and Robert Taylor, Energy Manager, Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission

Supply Chain Leadership Award : Sprint

Excellence in Greenhouse Gas Management (Goal Achievement Award) : The Boeing Company; Caesars Entertainment; Cisco Systems, Inc.; Ecolab; The Hartford; IBM; Johnson Controls; Kohl’s Department Stores; Mack Trucks; and Novelis

Excellence in Greenhouse Gas Management (Goal Setting Certificate) : Fruit of the Loom; Hasbro; and Kohl’s Department Stores

The EPA says the winners’ approaches to reducing carbon pollution demonstrate that efforts to address climate change are repaid by saving money and energy, while supporting more livable and resilient communities.

The national awards program recognizes and incentivizes exemplary corporate, organizational, and individual leadership in response to climate change. Award recipients represent a wide array of industries, including finance, manufacturing, retail, technology, higher education and local government.

Subscribe to Greenwatch Newsletter Check out the latest issues